Town of Saguache looking for new administrator

SAGUACHE —Interim administrator Brandy Reitter, former town manager for Buena Vista, will be leaving the town Jan. 26 to accept a position in Eagle, town board members learned last Monday.

Reitter replaced former town administrator Pam Fye, who resigned last August. Town Clerk Iris Garcia reported Monday that the town will be advertising for the positon and is working with the Department of Local Affairs to help find a suitable replacement.

At their Jan. 15 meeting, trustees voted to amend their personnel policy and reviewed their water system project. It was learned that when the town engineer initially evaluated the project he underestimated several line items in projecting costs for the system.

Following a cost analysis, the town discovered the funding for the project will need to be increased from $1.3 million to $1. 9 million. The board approved the increase. Garcia said the town is confident there will be no further increases in project costs.

Saguache Town Clerk Iris Garcia and trustee Timothy Chittum appeared before the Center Town Board to request an inter-governmental agreement (IGA) with the town to provide Saguache with a patrol officer Jan. 9, and the results of this meeting were discussed with trustees.

Center Town Administrator Brian Lujan said the town is willing to open a dialogue to explore the possibility and said he has spoken to Center Police Chief Jim Gowin about the request. A meeting with Center has been set to discuss the matter further.

Trustees approved a one-year contract for town attorney Eugene Farish at $1,750 per month. Farish replaces former town attorney Karen Lintott.

Trustees also approved a grant for the local fire department. Mountain Valley Schools also applied for a grant but was not funded.

The following candidates have returned packets to the town to be placed on the ballot for the April election: Elvie Samora and Mike Wheeler for mayor, and Terry Gillette, Randal Arredondo, Timothy Chittum, Loren Aldrich, Wyoma Hansen, Janice Torrez and Amber Wilson.

The next town board meeting will be held on Feb. 12.











Video News
More In Community